What Would I be Targeting? [Archive] - Search Engine Roundtable Forums

PDA

View Full Version : What Would I be Targeting?


GuyFromChicago
01-16-2006, 12:07 PM
I've posted this in a few places - would be interested to see if anyone here has any insight:

I was putting together a cpm campaign today. I typed in the domain I wanted to advertise on and as usual Google suggested some other "related" sites I may be interested in.

One of the results was displayed as googleadservices.com. When I clicked the link it took me to:

http://emailcontent.googleadservices.com/ca-ziffdavis_newsletters_400x420/VnlkQOKQEbraNJzSqYYH/PW060105

Any idea what the heck that is?

rustybrick
01-16-2006, 12:11 PM
I do not see anything there. You have a screen capture?

GuyFromChicago
01-16-2006, 12:24 PM
Both urls always came back as page cannot be displayed, and, despite trying to target that url with a campaign I haven't received any impressions:D

I'm just curious why Google would return that url as a "suggested site" for an AdWords cpm campaign? Maybe at some point AdWords users will be able to target e-mail nerwsletters just like they can with sites right now?

rustybrick
01-16-2006, 12:29 PM
Does seem weird.

No idea.

Must be a bug or something.

GuyFromChicago
01-16-2006, 12:54 PM
Another interesting twist - you specify googleadservices.com as a site you want to target with CPM campaign it will let you do it, and, indicates that site gets 500k+ impressions per day:confused:

I just added it...wonder if I get any impressions and if so, what page(s) they will be displayed on.

rustybrick
01-16-2006, 12:55 PM
Where else did you post this?

GuyFromChicago
01-16-2006, 12:57 PM
Digital Point and my ppc blog. Here's the DP thread (http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=50572). It didn't really get any responses so I figured I'd check/post in a few other places.

rustybrick
01-16-2006, 01:02 PM
ill see if I can get a response from Google on it. Who knows. :)

GuyFromChicago
01-16-2006, 01:11 PM
ill see if I can get a response from Google on it. Who knows. :)

Thanks, I e-mailed my contact too.

Now if googleadservices.com starts serving up impresssions that will be interesting:)

pk_synths
01-19-2006, 05:21 PM
That seems to be a tracking URL for email campaigns. It's basically like serving up a 1x1 pixel to track how many people viewed an email. I'm betting someone is running AdSense in their newsletter.

Seems it's for http://www.ziffdavis.com/ who do email newsletters for other companies.

googleadservices.com itself probably does get a good amount of traffic but it's all impression counting traffic from all the various email campaigns people run that use AdSense. Not a real page or site.

The URL above is dead because most impression tracking URLs get wiped after every email newsletter is sent out. Hense the 404.

And aside from all that I have no idea why that URL is even getting suggested. Seems like a bug to me.